Inauguration day 2014 highlights: A sigh of uncertainty as the New Chapter begins

Share This Post

Abiy Ahmed (Ph.D.) was sworn in as the prime minister on Monday, kicking off the day of fanfare that stood stark with supporting crowds at the edge amid heightened security after the insurrection in Irrecha celebration at the Meskel square.

A star-studded, the largely calm celebration began following H.E President Sahle- Work Zewde opening remarks, elected candidates swearing-in, including Adanech Abebe as she makes history as the first female mayor of Ethiopia. 

The ceremony took place at Meskel square with parades, accompanied by presidents of Senegal, South Sudan, Kenya, and Uganda. The inauguration was followed by a parade involving supporting crowds from all over the country.

Subsequently, The House of Peoples Representative (HoPR) held the 6th round, 1st year, 1st special session. Resulting in the inauguration of cabinet members. 

PM Abiy Ahmed presented 22 ministerial portfolios, three proposed leaders represent competing political parties. 

Apart from members of the prosperity party, three contending parties leaders have been included as the cabinet members form Ethiopian citizens for social justice(EZEMA) National Movement of Amhara (NAMA), and Oromo Liberation Front (OLF)- professor Birhanu Nega, Belete Mola, and Merdasa Tulu as Education, Innovation and Technology and Culture and Sports Ministers respectively. The appointed cabinet members were approved with the majority yes vote, 2 against, and 12 abstentions.

The Prime Minister said the nomination puts into consideration gender, educational background, experience, efficiency, religious inclusion, and devotion of the nominees. The MPs approved the nomination of Demeke Mekonnen with two against and twelve abstainers. Accordingly,

1, Demeke Mekonnen Hassen – as Deputy Prime Minister and foreign affairs minister

2,Abhrham Belay (PhD) – as Defense Minister 

3, Ahmed Shide – as Finance Minister

4,Muferihat Kamil- as Urban Development Minister

5,Oumer Hussen Oba – as Minister of Agriculture

6, Engineer Aisha Mohammed – as Irrigation and Lowland Development Minister

7, Engineer Habtamu Itefa Geleta-as Water and Energy Minister

8, Professor Birhanu Nega- as Education Minister 

9, Dagmawit Moges – as Transport and Logistics Minister 

10, Gebremeskel Chala – as Trade and Regional Integration Minister

11, Melaku Alebel – as Industry Minister 

12, Binalf Andualem – as Peace Minister 

13, Gedewon Timotewos (Ph.D.) – as Justice Minister

14, Dr. Lia Tadesse – as Health Minister 

15, Belete Mola – as Innovation and Technology Minister

16, Ambassador Nasise Chali – as Tourism Minister

17, Lake Ayalew – as Revenue Minister

18, Chaltu Sani Ibrahim – as Urban and Infrastructure Minister

19, Engineer Takelle Uma Benti – as Mines and Petroleum Minister

20, Kejela Merdasa Tulu – as Culture and Sports Minister

21, Ergoge Tesfaye (Ph.D.) – as Women and Social Affairs Minister

22, Fitsum Asefa (Ph.D.) – as Plan and Development Minister

PM Abiy Ahmed remarked,  “as the government, we have a system, disruption that may present a challenge to the new government, and reorganizing offices to correct and improve the system is binding.” 

In addition, He mentioned the restructuring of government institutions and their accountable office. Among the institutions include the National bank of Ethiopia, the Ministry of labor and skills, the Ministry of Planning and development, and the Ministry of Justice.